2 Juli 2009

Wakatobi Marine National Park

Wakatobi Marine National Park, also known as Kepulauan Tukangbesi, is located in the extreme south-east of Sulawesi and comprises an area of 1,390,000 ha. The Wakatobi archipelago consists of four major islands (Wangiwangi, Kalidupa, Tomia, Binongka), several little islands and the surrounding coral reefs. Pulau Moromaho is important for seabirds.

Wakatobi is an acronym for the four main islands of Wangi-Wangi, Kaledupa, Tomia, and Binongko that, together with smaller islands, comprise the Tukang Besi Archipelago at the southeastern tip of Sulawesi. Renowned by divers for its spectacular coral gardens,
Wakatobi’s 3.4 million acres of islands and waters were declared a national park in 1996. Wakatobi ranks as one of the highest priorities for marine conservation in Indonesia in terms of diversity, scale, and reef condition.

Like many of Indonesia’s marine areas, Wakatobi’s diverse coral habitats are threatened by overfishing and destructive fishing practices.

To address these issues, The Nature Conservancy and the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) are working with the Wakatobi National Park Authority to
redesign the park’s management plan and zoning system. We are consulting with a broad range of stakeholders, including the Ministry of Marine Affairs and Fisheries, the Ministry of Forestry, the district government,communities, and resource users.

Taman Nasional Wakatobi location map

Geographical Information for Taman Nasional Wakatobi

Place name: Taman Nasional Wakatobi
Latitude: 5° 38' 24" S
Longitude: 123° 53' 28" E
Feature description: national park
Area/state: Sulawesi Tenggara
Other alternative names: Tukangbesi Marine National Park, Wakatobi Marine National Park
Country: Indonesia

Tidak ada komentar: